The process of writing data to a storage medium such as a floppy diskette or hard drive. The save option is found in almost all programs commonly under the “File” drop-down-menu. When clicking the Save option, the file will be saved as its previous name. However, if the file is new, the program will ask the user to name it. In the picture below is an example of the typical File menu with the Save option.
When saving a previously existing file, software programs will ask if you want to overwrite it. If you click “Ok” or “Yes”, the previous file will be replaced with the new version. If you want to save the file as a different name, choose the Save As option instead of Save.
Tip: Use the shortcut key Ctrl + S to save a document or file at any time.
Also see: Autosave, Save As, Store, Write